Once Upon a Time…Month 5

5 Months…I left California on September 17th 2011 and arrived here in Australia on September 19th 2011. This last weekend marked my 5 month mark. Keeping this blog has been one of the best things that I have done upon moving here. It helps me not to forget how far God has brought me in just 5 short months. For awhile time just stood still and I felt so lost and alone. It was just God and me on an adventure. And now…so much has changed. I am making some amazing friends here. It is fun to watch these friendships grow and I am so thankful for the amazing women that I am getting to know, I have real solid friendships and rarely have a night to myself. I love having my social life back! πŸ™‚

I have a routine, it looks nothing like my routine in California, but it is a routine none the less. Its nice to have places to go and things to do. I am so busy that it is nice to just have a day at home once every few weeks, where before I couldnt handle all the down time with nothing to do and no where to go. I vowed to make this last month a growing music month. Well, it is still in process, but I now have a voice teacher who is amazing that I meet with every week, I got hired on to teach a localΒ  community college voice class, and I have starting to lead worship for the high school youth at church. I still don’t have access to a piano. Oh how my fingers long to grace the keys again. Everyone once in a while I will be somewhere with a piano or keyboard and my hands are drawn to each beautifully laid key. I will never take having a piano for granted ever again. This has been much to long of a spell without one. Music is coming along, but I am not yet where I would like to be.

I LOVE having a church again. It is so nice to see the same people every week and to discuss theology and life. I am excited about all the new friends I am making there. I have a bible study now too! This month I feel the most me since I have moved here. For awhile I felt like a partial version of myself, just trying to figure out this new place, this new way, this new life, and now…I am still figuring out, but in a way where I am fully me. I love it! Work has been crazy (which is why I have missed the last few blog posts) as I have been learning a ton and handling a product launch from start to finish. It’s not music, but at least at times it is still creative. πŸ™‚ The sun still has not been shining, but the last few days its has made an appearance, along with some pretty spectacular lightning storms. I have never seen storms like this in my whole life. They are epic and powerful and leave me in awe of how great God is. I have finally adjusted to the humidity and the fact that you can’t go outside at night without leaving with a million mosquito bites. Last night I sat on our deck with a friend watching the storm and started to feel itchy on my arms and hands. I came away with 6 mosquito bites…the bugs are winning. πŸ˜‰

I am learning so much about trust and timing. That is the lesson of the moment. Everything happens at just the right time, and do I trust God enough to wait for that. Waiting…not so good at it, but I am getting there. Constantly a work in progress. God is showing my over and over again just how trustworthy and big He is even when I cannot for the life of me figure out what is going on. He knows, and that is all that matters. I still miss everyone one at home. I am so thankful for Skype, free txt apps, and email. It makes everyone seem so much closer. However there are times that I wish I had the super power of teleportation so that I could quickly get back to the US and go out to dinner with my friends there. One of my students who I was exceptionally close to (I lived with her family for awhile) turned 8, I missed her birthday party. I have been to all of her birthdays parties since she turned 5. I called to talk to her and she cried, asking why I couldn’t be there. Oh my heart…I cried to. It broke my heart that I couldn’t be there to celebrate her special day with her. Just like every month before, there are highs and there are lows, but the lows are becoming fewer, while the highs are growing. I have grown so used to the Australian accent that I barely notice it anymore and I am getting used to being one of the few Americans around.Β  Funny thing though…they still use words that I don’t know and I have to ask what they are talking about. πŸ™‚

This next month holds travel, product launches, more involvement at church, building relationships,Β  and my parents coming out to visit me!! πŸ™‚ I have learned how to wait with hopeful anticipation. I am excited about what lies ahead, even though I have no clue what that may be, because God has me and He is trustworthy all the time.

To all my friends, family, and blog “stalkers” πŸ˜‰ Thanks for coming along on this journey with me. Your support, prayers, and words have meant the world to me and has helped pull me through the days where I want to call it quits and move home. Love you all!!

11 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time…Month 5

  1. Loved reading this post! Thankful I have friends who love the Lord and can share what he’s teaching you. It’s encouraging. Praying for a piano for you..let’s Skype soon. Oh yeah we’re gonna have another babe in September! Love you!!!!!!!

  2. Hey Kristin. I am a friend of Andrews and we live an hour out of Melbourne. There is a music festival coming up down here is 2 1/2 weeks and its a Christian music festival with some overseas and local acts. It goes all weekend and thought you may like info. Love to meet you someday.
    Meredith Frost

    • Thanks Meredith! I met your husband when he was here to see andrew one day. πŸ™‚ I would love to meet you too! We must meet up when I am Melbourne next time. πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds good, Kristin. Oh how I wish I was coming with your folks next month. Austrailia and Italy are my dream trips, but alas, will probably never happen.

    Mosquito tip: 100mg Vitamin B-1 (Thiamine) tablet/day. (As per the pediatrician in Lake Oswego) Sure helped Kim. Puts out an odor on your body that we can’t smell but the buggers can and don’t like it. May not repel them completely, but sure does help. They are drawn to sweet odors so no good smelling soap and no perfume helps a lot. Also, citronella plants/candles on the deck or patio if you are outside are good.

Leave a comment